Meeting on the ledge

(or why I don't get out much…..)

Survey on OS LMS

In the real world, as well as trying to manage library systems I’m also studying at the Open University. As a wierd conjunction of work and study I’m doing some research on the use of Open Source software by UK Higher  Education libraries. I’m particularly interested in OS Library Management Systems and their adoption, or lack of it. There has been some material published on OS in the US, but much less about the UK and I want to find out whether UK HE libraries are doing as little as we seem, and if so why, or whether a touch of British modesty has crept in and we’re all really trail-blazing into the new world of open systems….. Hence I’ve set up a Surveymonkey survey and would be grateful if people from UK HE  libraries would fill it in. As an extra bonus those who give me their email address will also get an anonymised summary of the results. Thanks in advance!

November 16, 2008 - Posted by | Libraries | ,

2 Comments »

  1. Hi Ian,
    As a service provider for OS LMS elsewhere in Europe, I’m really curious about the answers to your survey. From what happened in France, my hypothesis would be that there’s a need for someone to do “evangelist” work for some time before things start to move.
    We’re considering doing that in the UK in the future.
    Nicolas

    Comment by nicomo | November 17, 2008

  2. Nicolas,
    That is very good news. Its still early days with the survey responses, but as a Systems Manager I suspect one of the reasons for the slow adoption of OS LMS in the UK is the lack of support. There are a couple of other companies I’ve discovered who are emerging, but I agree that some ‘evangelism’ is needed. Please let me know how you get on.
    Ian

    Comment by Ian | November 20, 2008


Leave a Reply

