Meeting on the ledge

(or why I don't get out much…..)

CODI 8/11/7

I’m now about to start the 3rd day at CODI. My thoughts on yesterday?

The highlights for me were Roy Tennant, the Keynote speaker, and Stephen Abrams. Roy talked about the relationships involved in the ILS, the responsibilities of the supplier and of the customer. And he deftly avoided making any comments on SD and its recent history, despite when pushed to do so by one of the questions. Stephen, as ever, was highly entertaining and thought-provoking. He talked about his usual area of how libraries need to change to keep up with the needs of our customers – including the wonderful point that catalogues are usually designed to suit the librarians not the readers! I’m making no comment about how this applies to my library!

I don’t know if Dave Pattern knows this yet, but if not he will now. At the CODI Business Meeting he was awarded one of their CODI stars for his enthusastic development work. Interesting, as I happen to know where he is this week…….

The lowlights? An admission by SD that Symphony isn’t really set up for SQL access. I do a lot of reporting from multiple tables in Sybase, and also have a few queries which work via ODBC and web links. These won’t translate to Symphony. I understand the reporting options are better, especially with the optional Web Reporter, but it looks as if we would have to get familiar with the API to do something similar in Symphony.

Today is the last day so I’ll try to follow up with my overall impressions of the whole conference plus the days events later.

November 9, 2007 - Posted by | Libraries

3 Comments »

  1. Just catching up with Bloglines and was surprised to see my name!

    Like yourself, I’m still not 100% sure about SQL in Symphony. I was under the impression that SD sold two versions of Unicorn — one with the embedded Oracle that doesn’t allow full SQL, and one with the full version licence which does. I did ask Keith Shell about this last week and he said he’d get back to me with further clarification.

    The API route is a better/safer option, but it would need to be a full suite of API calls to be able to match the flexibility of using SQL.

    Glad to hear you enjoyed CODI!

    Comment by Dave Pattern | November 10, 2007

  2. If the SD staff at CODI weren’t clear on this, what chance do we have? My undestanding is that the embedded Oracle doesn’t allow us to create new indexes either – we can change and reindex existing ones, but not create new. Fortunately my University has a campus license, so we would go for the full version, but I don’t think Horizon in either Sybase or SQL Server being restricted this way?

    Comment by Ian | November 10, 2007

  3. There are three versions of Unicorn w/respect to databases:

    1) ISAM – a black box
    2) Embedded Oracle – read-only (restricted license)
    3) Oracle w/ full license – go nuts and issue DDL and DML if you like

    I believe this translates into the options Symphony will offer.

    Comment by Dan Scott | November 12, 2007


Leave a Reply

